USA Map





UTAH WARM AIR HEATING CONTRACTOR (S353)


SCOPE OF WORK COVERED: This license allows layout, fabrication, and installation of sheet metal for ducts and vents, gas piping, furnaces and controls necessary for complete warm-air ventilation systems.


PRE-APPROVAL: Applicants must gain approval to take the exam by submitting an application to the State Licensing Board.


BUSINESS AND LAW: All types of Contractors in the State of Utah must take a Business and Law Exam in addition to the trade exam required for each license.


EXPERIENCE REQUIRED: A minimum of two years of full-time experience within the past 10 years.


FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS: On the license application, candidates will be required to show financial responsibility.


EXAM DETAILS: The exam is given by PSI. It is a semi open-book timed test with 70 questions and a 2.5-hour time limit. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam. The exam fee is $79 for the trade exam. (There is also a $79 testing fee for the Business Law Exam, look under that heading for additional details.) If an exam is failed, candidates must wait at least 30 days before retaking that exam. Three attempts are allowed for each exam. After three attempts, candidates must wait 6 months before retaking exam.


EXAM CONTENT: Warm Air Heating, Gas Piping, Ducts, Controls, Combustion Air, Flues and Vents Ventilation, Sizing and Estimating, Testing and Inspection, Mold and Safety


BOND / INSURANCE: Depending on the way a Contractor’s business is established, the State may require General Liability, Worker’s Compensation and Unemployment Insurance. The minimum General Liability Insurance is typically $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 in total.


LICENSING FEE: The Warm Air Heating Contractor licensing fee is $210. To add an additional Specialty license the fee is $110. All licenses expire on November 30, every even numbered year. In order to renew this license, 6 hours of Continuing Education is required every two-year period. Three hours must be core education (Business and Law) and three hours trade education.


PROCESSING TIME: In-State applications will be processed in 1-2 weeks. Out-of-State applications will have to be reviewed by the Board, which meets once per month and can take 4-6 weeks to process.


RECIPROCITY: The state of Utah has reciprocity agreements with Arizona and South Carolina for this license.


 ***IMPORTANT REFERENCE MATERIAL INFORMATION***


Not all of the books listed under ‘Reference Materials’ on this page are allowed into the exam. The chart below will explain which books are allowed into the exam room on test day.


ALLOWED: International Residential Code, 2006 International Mechanical Code, 2006, International Fuel Gas Code, 2006. 


NOT ALLOWED: OSHA Title 29, Part 1926, Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, 2004 and Manual N-Load Calculation for Commercial Summer and Winter Air Conditioning. The following downloadable document is also used to prepare for the exam. To view and print this document simply click on the button following the title.  Mold Remediation in Schools and Commercial Buildings, EPA 401-K-01-001, 2002 "http://www.epa.gov/mold/moldguide.html" target=_blank>Click Here to Download.


We currently do not offer a study course to help you prepare for this exam. However, we do have the necessary study materials. We have several courses still under development; please contact us for more details at 1-800-992-1910.




Request information on this class

Schedule Info:
Instruction for this course, if available, is given on a private and/or home-study basis. Please contact us for more information.

View complete schedule

Who else do I need to contact?