Utah Residential/Small Commercial Contractor (R100)

Pre-Approval is Not required. The first step in the process is to pass the exams.

The Business Law exam is required

A minimum of four years of full-time experience within the past 10 years, two years of which must be in a supervisory or managerial position. A 4-year Bachelor’s Degree or a 2-year Associate Degree in Construction Management may count as 1-year credit toward supervisory or managerial experience.

Depending on the way a Contractor’s business is established, the State may require General Liability, Worker’s Compensation and Unemployment Insurance. The minimum General Liability Insurance is typically $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 in total.

Scope of Work:

This license allows the construction of single-family residences, multi-family residences up to four units, and commercial construction of not more than three stories above the ground and not more than 20,000 square feet. A residential/small commercial contractor building a single-family or multi-family residence up to four units may perform the mechanical work required. In all other instances, only a contractor who holds that specific trade license may do any electrical, plumbing or mechanical work.


Applications for all types of contractor,licenses are available from:

Department of Commerce
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

The Residential/Small Commercial Contractor licensing fee is $210. To add an additional Specialty license the fee is $110. All licenses expire on November 30, every even numbered year.

In-State applications will be processed in 1-2 weeks. Out-of-State applications will have to be reviewed by the Board, which meets once per month and can take 4-6 weeks to process.

Reciprocity: The state of Utah has reciprocity agreements with Arizona, California, Louisiana, Nevada, and South Carolina for this license.
 In order to renew this license, 6 hours of Continuing Education is required every two-year period. Three hours must be core education (Business and Law) and three hours trade education.
Exam: The exam is given by PSI. It is a semi open-book timed test with 80 questions and a 3-hour time limit. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam. The exam fee is $72.00 for the trade exam. (There is also a $72.00 testing fee for the Business Law Exam, look under that heading for additional details.) If an exam is failed, candidates must wait at least 30 days before retaking that exam. Three attempts are allowed for each exam. After three attempts, candidates must wait 6 months before retaking exam.

EXAM CONTENT: Sitework Concrete Masonry Metals Carpentry Thermal & Moisture Protection Doors and Windows Drywall & Finishes Safety General Code, Plan Reading & Estimating Blue Stake Sewer & Septic Roofing


The references listed have been used to create the exam questions. It is recommended that those testing be familiar with all of the references listed, however only the following can be taken into the exam:

International Building Code, International Residential Code for One and Two Family Dwellings and the Utah Ammendments that can accompany them.

If you have questions regarding books please contact us at 800-992-1910

Training: American Contractors carries all the references used to prepare for the exam, however we do not offer a seminar to prepare for the Utah Residential/Small Commercial Contractor at this time.

Request information on this class

Schedule Info:
Instruction for this course, if available, is given on a private and/or home-study basis. Please contact us for more information.

View complete schedule

Reference Materials
The following books are recommended for this exam:
BookNameOnline Price

Take me to the Bookstore

Who else do I need to contact?