USA Map






The Oregon Construction Contractor exam is for individuals seeking the Residential General Contractor, Residential Specialty Contractor, Residential Limited Contractor, Commercial General Contractor Level 1 and Level 2, or Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1 and Level 2.


To obtain a CCB license, you must be at least 18 years old. You must also complete at least 16 hours of training on law and business practices and pass a state test. Out-of-state contractors must do the same.  


Some contractors, particularly those operating in multiple states, have taken and passed the NASCLA examination for commercial general building contractors. If this is you, you must still pass the Oregon exam. However, the 16-hour training is not required. Contact the CCB for details. (503-934-2227)



NASCLA Accredited license is accepted in the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia & the Virgin Islands.


Additionally, West Virginia will accept the NASCLA exam scores for the West Virginia General Contractor, provided the NASCLA exam was passed after 11/1/2013. 


Nevada is also accepting the NASCLA exam scores if the exam was passed after 12/1/2013. This is for the same classification.


As of August 1, 2017, Arizona began accepting this examination in lieu trade examinations for the B-1 and B-2 General Commercial Contracting Classifications. As of November 21, 2017 Arizona also began administering the NASCLA exam.


The person who takes the training and passes the test is the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) for the license. The RMI must be an owner or employee of the business and manage or supervise its construction activities. 


A license must always have a RMI. If your RMI leaves, notify the CCB immediately. You must replace the former RMI with someone:


·         Who has taken the course within the past 24 months and passed the test or


·         Someone who has served as an RMI within the last 24 months.


Key deadlines?


·         You must obtain your license within 24 months of completing the training, not the test. 


·         ?If your CCB license is lapsed for more than 24 months, you must retake training and pass the test again.  ?


Training providers


The CCB approves all pre-license trainers. They are listed here?.  


About the test


·         The test is based on the Oregon Contractor Reference Manual, which may be included in your fee for the training. Ask the training provider if the manual is included in the cost.


·         Updates to the manual can affect test questions so it's best to use the most current version of the manual. The 11th edition is current. Students with the 10th edition can still take the test but some questions could be based on the 11th edition.


·         About three days after you finish pre-license training, you can schedule the test through the approved test administrator. 


·         You can use the manual during the open-book test. You cannot take loose paper into the testing facility so make changes or corrections directly into the manual. 


·         There are 80 multiple choice questions on business practices and law. A passing score is 70 percent (56 correct answers). 


?Register for the test with PSI  


PSI Services is our test administrator. Its candidate bulletin? gives information about test locations and procedures. Register here? for a test date.  


·         You will have three hours to complete the test, and the cost is $60.? 


After the test 


You will get your test score immediately after completing the test.


·         If you pass: Come to the CCB office to get your license. Bring your score report, along with a completed CCB application, fee, original surety bond and certificate of liability coverage.


·         If you fail: You can test again.


 




Request information on this class

Select your course
by clicking below...


License
*Oregon Construction Contractor

Choose another state

Schedule Info:
Instruction for this course, if available, is given on a private and/or home-study basis. Please contact us for more information.

View complete schedule

Reference Materials
The following books are recommended for this exam:
BookNameOnline Price
$78.50

Take me to the Bookstore

Who else do I need to contact?